CPD for centre staff offering HNCs/SVQs in Social Services, Childhood Practice and Healthcare 2016

This SQA Academy course will enable you to keep up-to-date with the changes in legislation, which may impact on your centre.  Such legislation relates to the following qualifications:

HNC Social Services
HNC Childhood Practice
SVQs in Social Services (Children and Young People)
SVQs in Social Services and Healthcare.

The course has been developed to assist those Assessors/Lecturers, Internal Verifiers …

Read more

SSSC SafeMed resources

The SSSC has developed resources relating to administration of medication.

This resource is a suite of three modules covering principles and good practice, understanding medication, and practical considerations when undertaking the safe administration of medication.

The resource can be accessed here:



Read more

SSSC Codes of Practice Consultation

The SSSC Codes of Practice are under review and the consultation opens today and closes in January 2016.

To take part in the consultation please click on the following link;



Read more

SQA Introduces Ushare

SQA have recently launched Ushare, our new community where users can rate, comment on and share links to open-source learning and teaching materials.

To find out more about Ushare, here is the link to the news release; http://www.sqa.org.uk/sqa/75142.html

SQA have also produced a short film promoting Ushare which features speakers from a number of …

Read more

Ushare Resources

Ushare is a new platform that allows users to share links to learning and teaching materials online.

Ushare is available now for a number of SQA subject areas including Health and Social Care.

There is a link on the Health and Social Care page to Ushare and it can also be accessed directly by going to the Ushare web site.


Read more

New Qualifications

SQA Care team have developed and validated two new qualifications.

The first is the the PDA in Working with Carers and Young Carers at SCQF level 7. This PDA is intended to enhance professional practice in a range of settings. It can be used as evidence of post-registration training and learning (PRTL) and continuous professional development (CPD) in social services and health professions, or it can lead to progression to further education courses, such as the HNC in Social Care. To ensure a consistent benchmark for progression to other qualifications, the PDA is mapped to the National Occupational Standards (NOS) at SVQ Level 3.

The PDA consists of one mandatory unit and two optional units.  Learners must select the mandatory unit and one of the two optional units to acheive the award.  For more details on the award please visit the product page; http://www.sqa.org.uk/sqa/74520.html

The second award is The PDA in Health and Social Care: Promoting Enhanced Professional Practice at SCQF level 8.

This PDA is designed for generic and profession-specific …

Read more