NPA Digital Literacy

I mentioned previously that we were about to review the NPA in Digital Literacy, which was first introduced in 2007. The first meeting of the Qualification Development Team (QDT) met yesterday.

It was a good meeting. We discussed the strengths and weaknesses of the current award, the likely demographics of the revised award, and the knowledge and skills needed within the new qualification.

The QDT decided to retain the current title on the basis that there is a strong focus in digital literacy in schools and colleges. I was told that there is also a dearth of qualifications at this level (SCQF Level 3). But the current award’s focus on numeracy and communications needs to be changed to make it focus more on computer skills.

The revised award would focus on computer skills, digital skills and software skills. It would be a simple, broad-based introduction to computing, which would permit learners to acquire basic knowledge and skills, and progress to further qualifications in the area. A suggested structure was:

  1. Computer Basics
  2. Digital Skills (new)
  3. Using Applications (new)

The current award has low uptake but the QDT felt that there was a real need for a qualification in this area at this level and that the revised award could prove to be popular.

Please contact Helen if you want to know more about this development.

1 Comment

Hmm!! This blog is really cool, I’m so lucky that I have reached here and got this awesome information.cloud4computers


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.